Why is my uploads folder so big after compressing?

The backup original images option preserves original (uncompressed) copies of your images with this setting enabled. This will nearly double the size of your uploads folder but provides a simple backup solution for your original media files. You can turn this off if you want to save space.

Posted in: Image Compression