Why is my uploads folder so big after smushing ?

The backup original images option preserves original (uncompressed) copies of your images with this setting enabled. This will nearly double the size of your uploads folder but provides a simple backup solution for your original media files. You can turn this off if you want to save space

Posted in: Image Compression